Advert Break – PAX BRITANNIA: Anno Frankenstein

I’ve got a Pax Britannia book sitting on my shelf that I never read and I know I feel shamefaced as the concept behind the series (steampunk adventure) sounds right up my street. Apparently this latest novel in the series titles ‘Anno Frankenstein’ is one of a series of novels featuring the adventurer Ulysses Quicksilver (man what a name).

I plan to seek out some of Quicksilver’s earlier adventures before I try this one. In the meantime check out the press release for more info.


Anno Frankenstein

12 May 2011   £7.99 (UK)   ISBN 978-1-907519-44-4  •  17 May 2011  $9.99/$12.99 (US & CAN) ISBN 978-1-907519-45-1

Also available as an eBook

Could Hitler’s ultimate weapon be our hero’s nemesis?

Time travelling Nazi terrorists, flailing steampunk fisticuffs, dapper swashbucklers facing Hammer Horrors from before they were born – Ulysses Quicksilver may have travelled into the past, but has he bitten off more than he can chew?

It’s temporal trouble for Quicksilver as he travels back in time to stop the ultimate weapon falling into Hitler’s hands just at the crucial moment of his defeat in the Second Great War but must infiltrate the most heavily-defended fortress on the planet to stop this malignant gift from the future from changing the past– and erasing Quicksilver himself from history!
In the world of Pax Britannia, Jonathan Green crafts another storming Boy’s Own steampunk adventure where Mary Shelley meets Kim Newman meets The Terminator.
About the Series

Pax Britannia was Abaddon’s fourth shared world, launching with Jonathan Green’s Unnatural History in February 2007. A steampunk alternative history set in a late twentieth century in which Queen Victoria – now nearing the end of her sixteenth decade on the throne, and wholly dependent on steam technology for survival – rules over the vastly wealthy, powerful and decadent Empire of Magna Britannia. Airships ply the skies overhead as gentlemen of leisure admire the dinosaurs in the London Zoo, while the Empire has extended to the Moon. Across the pond, the United Socialist States of America, loosely allied with the might of Magna Britannia, is home to dreamers, poets, madmen, and heroes, poised to usher in a new era.

The series has included six books by Jonathan Green, featuring the adventures of Ulysses Lucian Quicksilver, dandy and adventurer and agent of the throne; an omnibus collecting the first three is currently available.

GS Reporter: Nuge


More from the world of Geek Syndicate

One comment

  1. Phlambler /

    I have read one of these, Evolution Expects bought direct from the author at SFX Weekender, and will post a review up soon on the site (too many things to do!!!). Reads like a Victorian based action film and the Quicksilver character is comic boy hero stuff. Upper class dandy meets Indiana Jones. Think you’ll enjoy it.

%d bloggers like this: