Arthur C. Clarke Award 2012 Goes to Jane Rogers’ The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Step aside China Miéville, no fourth Arthur C. Clarke award for you. Jane Rogers beats Mr.Miéville  to the punch and earns her first Arthur C. Clarke award for her Booker long-listed novel The Testament of Jessie Lamb.

The dystopic novel about a young girl in a near future where the world’s women are dying out, beats the likes of award stalwarts China Miéville, Greg Bear, Charles Stross, and Sheri S. Tepper.

Christopher Priest should be pretty chuffed with this result as he recently lampooned all the other contenders for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke on his website, following the initial nominations at the end of March. Saying such things as Charles Stross “writes like an internet puppy”, Greg Bear’s Hull Zero Three has short paragraphs to “suit the expected attention-span of the reader”, and Sheri S. Tepper’s book The Waters Rising, he pricelessly exclaims: “For fuck’s sake, it is a quest saga and it has a talking horse.”

Priest said that the most deserving book of the “dreadful shortlist”, was Jane Rogers’ entry. In a rare bit of praise Priest described The Testament of Jessie Lamb as “something we should be proud of”.

The book has been compared to the likes of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, P.D. James’ Children of Men, and Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go. Interestingly, Margaret Atwood’s novel won the inaugural Arthur C. Clarke award way back in 1987.

Jane Rogers will not only see a not inconsiderable jump in sales of her prize-winning novel, but will also receive a cash prize from Sir Arthur C. Clarke’s estate via Rocket Publishing, his UK representatives.

SourceArthur C. Clarke Award

GS Reporter: Dean Simons

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

One comment

  1. Once read a China Mieville book, never again

%d bloggers like this: