Geek Syndicate Blogger Liz de Jager’s Debut Novel Picked Up by Tor

Liz de Jager, a blogger for the Geek Syndicate website and magazine and a fellow Indiana Jones fan has just had her debut novel picked up by Pan Macmillan’s Tor imprint and I could not be happier for her!

As you can imagine when running a blog that as you spend your days shifting through press releases that they can become a little like white noise after a while so when this press release from Tor about their latest big find dropped into my email address it was great to spot a name I knew. I know Liz has been working tirelessly on her novel and I’m so glad that all that hard work has finally paid off.

I hope she remembers us little folk when she makes it big!

 BOOK BLOG TO BOOK DEAL: TOR ACQUIRES DE JAGER’S DEBUT NOVEL

Pan Macmillan’s Tor imprint is delighted to announce the acquisition at auction of an exciting young adult trilogy – by blogger-turned-author Liz de Jager. Senior Commissioning Editor Bella Pagan bought World Rights, excluding USA/Canada, via Juliet Mushens of the Agency group and the series starts with The Blackhart Legacy. The books are contemporary YA urban fantasies set in our world, but here fairytale legends exist. And only one family – the Blackharts – are able to see fae interlopers, never mind fight them. Part Artemis Fowl, part Brothers Grimm, this is a rollicking and original read from a fresh new voice in YA fiction. This will be perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Sarah Reese Brennan and Melissa Marr.

De Jager said: ‘I’m thrilled beyond words to be joining the league of Tor UK authors. Tor has consistently published some of the best genre and YA fiction to be found in the market and for them to take on my three Blackhart Legacy titles is a dream come true. I believe Tor UK is the right home for Kit Blackhart and I cannot wait to share the first book in the series with you in early 2014.’

While writing her first book, Jager fostered her love of YA and genre fiction by developing the popular My Favourite Books review blog.  As a blogger, she has already spoken at publishing events on digital marketing and the importance of authors and publishers adapting to the digital age.

Bella Pagan had this to say on the deal: ‘I adored Kit Blackhart and her story. But there is so much more here than even the wonderful characterisation and fast-paced storytelling. I was massively impressed by the convincing weight of worldbuilding that backs up The Blackhart Legacy. This is a book that first charms and excites, then sticks with you to demand a sequel!’

Juliet Mushens said: ‘I fell in love with the rich world that Liz de Jager has created as soon as I read the first page of The Blackhart Legacy. Kit is a fantastic YA heroine – whip-smart and feisty – and I can’t wait for a wider audience to meet her.’

Reporter: Nuge

Source: Tor

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

%d bloggers like this: