Four Special Achievement Awards to be Given at Saturn Awards

saturnawardslogoEarlier, we announced that we’ll be attending the 39th Annual Saturn Awards, presented live in Burbank, California. The Saturn Awards is the official honor that is presented by The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films. Achievement

Along with the usual awards, the Saturn Awards is giving four special awards to some outstanding legends in the genre: Richard Matheson, Willaim Friedkin, Vince Gilligan and Jonathan Frakes. “The recipients of this year’s special Saturn Awards have influenced generations of fans – not to mention other creative minds, and their accomplishments truly rank among the great contributions to science fiction, fantasy and horror,” said Academy President Robert Holguin. “They have provoked our thoughts, invaded our dreams and set our minds soaring to new heights, and the Academy is genuinely thrilled to pay tribute to them and their works.”

The Visionary Award will be given to Richard Matheson who has written more than 25 novels and 100 short stories. Matheson has also written 14 episodes of The Twilight Zone. His work as a screenwriter has also served as a basis for other screenwriters of the genre which has resulted in such epic films like I Am Legend, The Incredible Shrinking Man, Stir of Echoes, Real Steel, What Dreams May Come, and more.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Willaim Friedkin whose cinematic accomplishments as a director, producer and screenwriter have included such classic films as The Exorcist, The French Connection, Sorcerer and last year’s widely acclaimed Killer Joe.

The incredible Vince Gilligan will be this years recipient of the Dan Curtis Legacy Award. This is a new award named for the legendary producer of television entertainment such as the original Night Stalker films, the miniseries The Winds of War and War and Remembrance, as well as Dark Shadows. Gilligan has impacted television in a major way. He was once a writer and executive producer of The X Files, but is most known and respected as the creator, writer, producer and sometimes director of the AMC series Breaking Bad. Gilligan has taken home three Saturn awards in the past.

The final special award is going to Jonathan Frakes. He will be receiving the Life Career Award. Trekkies will know Frakes as Commander William T. Riker in the classic Star Trek: The Next Generation series (1989-1994) but he moved on to become a highly respected director. He not only directed eight episodes of Star Trek: TNG but also two of the feature films: Insurrection, and First Contact. In recent years he has directed various episodes of shows such as Burn Notice, Persons Unknown, Castle, NCIS: Los Angeles, and Leverage.

The Saturn Awards will be presented on Wednesday, June 26, live from Burbank, California. You can check out Geek Syndicate for my coverage, and as always, you can stay up to date with the happenings by following @GeekSyndicate on Twitter and “like” Geek Syndicate on Facebook.

Source: Saturn Awards
Reporter: Christi Kassity

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

%d bloggers like this: