Free Genre Books on Amazon Kindle!

A quick round-up of free-of-charge books currently available for your Kindle or tablet Kindle App…

Running off the news that ‘The Fall’ by David L. Dawson is currently free on Amazon for the Kindle, I thought I’d check out other genre books (not the usual out-of-copyright ones either) that you can currently fill your e-book reader with that upcoming business trip or holiday…

The Fall (The God Slayers Quartet) – The future of planet Earth is bleak.  Two warring gods have decimated the planet.  Fanatical religious cults, cannibals and cat/human hybrids are just some of the dangers out there.  A young boy called Ben Casper lives in a crumbling shopping mall called The Glass Palace with his family. He’s just come back from a rites of passage into the brutal outside world that officially makes him an adult. Now he must get married and be trained to take over from his father as Mayor. Except he sees things differently now.  He doesn’t want responsibility. The only things he truly wants is to go back out into the world and win the love of Brian, who happens to be his best friend’s brother.  Only he might have responsibility thrust upon him when he becomes embroiled in a conspiracy to kill the gods and save the world; a plot that could lead everyone he loves into mortal danger…

Devil’s Briar: The Complete Series (All 8 books): Amy Cross – When Paula Mitchell follows her husband Bill into the remote Colorado wilderness, she never expects them to stumble upon a deserted ghost town. Devil’s Briar has been abandoned for many decades, but it
soon becomes clear that the town harbors some dark secrets. What happened to the people of Devil’s Briar, and why are both Paula and Bill starting to see and  hear strange things as they explore the town?
Meanwhile, back in 1925, the people of Devil’s Briar welcome a new arrival. Thomas Paternoster is a secretive scientist who immediately becomes a central figure in the community. However, just as it seems that Devil’s Briar is poised to achieve greatness, the true extent of Paternoster’s plan becomes apparent, setting in chain a series of events that will have terrible repercussions not only for the townsfolk, but
also for Paula and Bill almost a century later.

Alone: The Girl in the Box: Robert J. Crane – Sienna Nealon was a 17 year-old girl who had been held prisoner in her own house by her mother for twelve years. Then one day her mother vanished, and Sienna woke up to find two strange men in her home. On the run, unsure of who to turn to and discovering she possesses mysterious powers, Sienna finds herself pursued by a shadowy agency known as the Directorate and hunted by a vicious, bloodthirsty psychopath named Wolfe, each of which is determined to capture her for their own purposes…

Enchantress (The Evermen Saga, Book One): James Maxwell – first book in the epic Evermen Saga. For fans of Game of Thrones, Lord of the Rings and Magician. The Emperor crushed the land of enchanters long ago, and as his evil grows there’s little chance they’ll survive the demonic horde coming to wipe them out for good. Miro and Ella, orphaned brother and sister, know that as a soldier and an enchantress their path will thrust them directly into conflict with the Emperor and his horrific creations. They know there’s little chance to save their homeland. Yet it’s what they don’t know that will place them in the greatest peril of all.

The Soulkeepers (The Soulkeepers Series): G. P. Ching – When fifteen-year-old Jacob Lau is pulled from the crumpled remains of his mother’s car, no one can explain why he was driving or why the police can’t find his mother’s body. Made a ward of his uncle and thousands of miles from home, a beautiful and mysterious neighbor, Dr. Abigail Silva, offers to use her unique abilities to help him find his mom. In exchange, she requires Jacob to train as a Soulkeeper, a gifted warrior charged with protecting human souls. He agrees to her demands, desperate for any clue to the mystery of his mother’s disappearance. But soon Jacob finds himself trapped in a web of half-truths, and questions Dr. Silva’s motives for helping him.

A Hidden Fire (Elemental Mysteries Book 1): Elizabeth Hunter – No secret stays hidden forever. A phone call from an old friend sets mysterious book researcher Giovanni Vecchio back on the path of a mystery that has eluded him for centuries.  Little does he suspect a young librarian holds the key to an ancient secret, nor could he expect the danger Beatrice De Novo would attract. Now both will follow a twisted maze leading from the archives of a university library, through the fires of Renaissance Florence, and toward a passion that could destroy them both. A Hidden Fire is a paranormal mystery/romance novel.  It is the first book in the Elemental Mysteries Series, followed by This Same Earth, The Force of Wind, and A Fall of Water.

Scary Mary: S.A. Hunter – Mary has always been different. She’d like to be normal, but being able to hear ghosts means she’ll never be like everyone else. She starts her junior year of high school hoping to be left alone, but Cyrus Asher is new and doesn’t know or seem to care that she’s an outcast. They start hanging out and all is well until she goes over to his house. Cy’s house is haunted, and not by Caspar, the friendly ghost. But it’s not the ghost that ruins the evening. That honor belongs to Vicky “The Hickey” Nelson with her borrowed Ouija board and stuck-up friends. They make Mary so angry that she uses the ghost to freak out everybody, Cy included. He orders her out, and Mary thinks she’s lost whatever chance she had with him. But there’s still the ghost to deal with. He’s mean, nasty, and possibly homicidal. She has to get rid of him or Cy and his family could be hurt. Or worse.

My own personal favourite: A Little Bit of Everything For Dummies: John Wiley and Sons – 20 years ago the very first For Dummies book, DOS For Dummies, was published. From that first book came a series unlike anything in the publishing world, one that is global in both geography and in coverage. No single volume can hope to summarize what thousands of titles have meant to millions of readers over the years, but this e-book celebrates the breadth and depth of the For Dummies series, offering 20 chapters – in honor of the 20 years – from a list of books compiled by global colleagues, to give a representative glimpse at why – no matter what the topic – these books have meant so much to so many by Making Everything Easier.

Source: Amazon
Reporter: SilverFox

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

%d bloggers like this: