Rebellion Launches Children/YA Imprint

As I said in a recent post, I’ve been appreciating Young Adult novels more and more in the past few years.  Despite the astonishing growth of the digital entertainment industries we are a long long way past the days of parents and teachers bemoaning the loss of the book.  Children love to read.  Give them something ‘imaginative’ and they will devour it.  Give them something ‘anarchic’ and they will bite your hand off to get it.

Put the two words together and you pretty much capture the style of Rebellion, whether you’re talking about their books, comics or computer games.  This month Rebellion’s publishing arm launches their Children’s/Young Adult imprint on the world.  They call it Ravenstone.  Here’s a press release to give you an idea of what is in store…

Showcasing the very best in literature for the young, Ravenstone will publish one book a season.  It will exist to highlight works of genre-busting adventure, and incisive and challenging writing.  The imprint’s launch title will be the beautiful debut novel Lupus Rex, by the high-profile musician and writer John Carter Cash.  To be published in June 2013, Lupus Rex will have enormous appeal to children and older readers alike.  This astonishing new tale is in the tradition of Watership Down, The Rats of Nimh, the Redwall series and Duncton Wood.

Isyl and Cormo are two quail who must risk their lives when they are driven from their home by the crows when the Murder fractures over the decision of who shall rule the Tree.  The disorder this brings to the region comes to the attention of the wolf Asmod and he sees an opportunity to make himself King.  To restore order the quails must venture far from their home to seek an audience with a potentially dangerous ally, the hawk Pitrin.  As the forest trembles with the approach of Asmod’s army, the two quail will find themselves entangled in an epic struggle, as they fight to bring peace to the Field.

This is a major release from a debut imprint and Cash shows himself to be a beautiful writer in his first novel.  With a stylish and classic cover by ‘Wicked’ series artist Douglas Smith, this tale of nature is full of strong characters and sets the bar very high for an emerging literary talent.  Ravenstone’s titles will be published in hardback, paperback and e-book formats in the US and the UK, allowing new generations of readers the chance to explore new worlds and new horizons.  They will be distributed by Simon and Schuster.

Now, I have a six year old girl here at home who has made it her mission to read…everything.  She can’t read for herself properly yet – that’s what bed-time stories are for! But it’s heartening to know that Ravenstone, and publishers like them, will be around to help her achieve her goal.  Long may they continue.

Source: Rebellion
Reporter: Dion Winton-Polak

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

%d bloggers like this: