The Arthur C. Clarke Award 2012 Nominees have been announced!

 The nominees for 2012’s prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award for Science Fiction have been announced.

In an interview with the Guardian, the Chair of the Judges, Andrew M. Butler, described the shortlist for this year’s prize as having “something for everyone: alien contact, post-apocalyptic disaster, near future cyber-punkish police procedural…. It’s exciting because you can’t fit it in a box.”

The novels shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Science Fiction include:

  • Hull Zero Three by Greg Bear (Gollancz)
  • The End Specialist by Drew Magary (Harper Voyager)
  • Embassytown by China Mieville (Macmillan)
  • Rule 34 by Charles Stross (Orbit)
  • The Waters Rising by Sheri S. Tepper (Gollancz)
  • The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers (Sandstone Press)

China Mieville is the juggernaut nominee for the Arthur C. Clarke award with ‘Embassytown’. China is up to his fifth nomination and he has already won three times. This makes China the highest winner of Arthur C. Clarke awards in the prize’s history.

His debut for the Arthur C. Clarke (and first win) was in 2001 with ‘Perdido Street Station’. He has since won two more times with ‘Iron Council’ (2005) and ‘The City  & The City’ (2010).

To make him more of a heavyweight for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke award, China Mieville has also been nominated for a Nebula and a Hugo award for ‘Embassytown’.

The Arthur C. Clarke shortlist carries several veterans of the award. Greg Bear, who has been given his third nomination with ‘Hull Zero Three’, was first nominated for an Arthur C. Clarke way back at the award’s inception, in 1987, with ‘Eon’.

Other veterans of the award include Sheri S. Tepper, who is on her fourth nomination with ‘The Waters Rising’, and Charles Stross is up to his second Arthur C. Clarke nomination since 2006, for ‘Rule 34’.

This year there are two Arthur C. Clarke debuts: Drew Magary, with his first novel ‘The End Specialist’, and Jane Rogers with her ninth novel ‘The Testament of Jessie Lamb’.

‘The Testament of Jessie Lamb’ has previously been longlisted for the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is currently in its 26th year. Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ won the inaugural Arthur C. Clarke award in 1987.

Award Director Tom Hunter said:
“ The definition of science fiction is many different things to different people. It can be a vision of the future, a reflection of our contemporary concerns and technological advances, a vast galaxy-spanning exploration or an alternate history of worlds that might have been.
“Every year the judges for the Clarke Award are tasked first to make their definition of science fiction, and then to define those books they think best showcase the genre. The task of turning sixty books into a shortlist of just six is no simple task, and I hope science fiction readers everywhere will appreciate both the challenge of making the selection and also the challenge any shortlist can make to our preconceived notions of the SF genre having any one simple definition.
“The Clarke Award shortlist this year is, in my opinion, a greatly exciting selection, and one that follows behind two equally exciting prizes I always watch with great interest; the British Science Fiction Association Awards and the Kitschies. Three genre prizes with different backgrounds and different approaches, but when read together can offer a deeply encouraging indication of both the strength and breadth of science fiction literature today.”

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 2nd May 2012 at the Sci-Fi-London festival.

Source: Guardian, Arthur C Clark Award
GS Reporter: Dean Simons

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

%d bloggers like this: