COMIC REVIEW: Gregory Suicide HC

COMIC REVIEW: Gregory Suicide HC

17 Nov, 2017

A futuristic tale of AI with a twist. A revolution against the human creators. I’m in. Welcome to the world of Gregory Suicide. The hook in Gregory Suicide is that the AIs are given cloned, flesh-and-blood bodies to inhabit. So they have the ability to be programmed but have physical human frailties. And of course, they rise up…

BOOK REVIEW: Seventh Decimate

BOOK REVIEW: Seventh Decimate

17 Nov, 2017

The author who sold enough books in the ’80s to give every Scottish person two copies returns, at age seventy, with the first book in a new trilogy. Does he still have the old spark? And what are the implications if the answer to that question is “no”?

TV REVIEW: Rick And Morty S3 E8 ‘Morty’s Mind Blowers’ (Contains Spoilers)

TV REVIEW: Rick And Morty S3 E8 ‘Morty’s Mind Blowers’ (Contains Spoilers)

16 Nov, 2017

Rick And Morty does a clip show that’s not a clip show in Morty’s Mind Blowers! Better not take it for granite.

TV REVIEW: The Flash S4E6 ‘When Harry Met Harry’ (Contains Spoilers)

TV REVIEW: The Flash S4E6 ‘When Harry Met Harry’ (Contains Spoilers)

15 Nov, 2017

‘When Harry Met Harry’ puts the Flash in the position of babysitting Ralph Dibny on his journey to heroism, but also finally brings Devoe into the fold.

BOOK REVIEW: A Matter of Oaths

BOOK REVIEW: A Matter of Oaths

7 Nov, 2017

The short time we spend in this universe is wonderful and it is another fine novel fully deserving of the republishing it is getting.

COMIC REVIEW: Underwinter Vol 1: Symphony

COMIC REVIEW: Underwinter Vol 1: Symphony

1 Nov, 2017

Music is an incredibly powerful and important art form. Trying to convey that power is something that writers have attempted time and again. While Underwinter Vol 1: Symphony is undoubtedly a horror comic, its creator, Ray Fawkes, manages to transport the reader into another world where the passion for music is almost tangible.

COMIC REVIEW: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary II

COMIC REVIEW: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary II

30 Oct, 2017

MR James is arguably one of the greatest writers of the spooky short story that there has ever been, so how do you update James’ shorts for the modern audience?

GAME REVIEW: Samurai Riot [PC- Steam]

GAME REVIEW: Samurai Riot [PC- Steam]

26 Oct, 2017

We take a look at Samurai Riot a new steam game based on the classic arcade brawlers of the 80s.

COMIC REVIEW: Mr Higgins Comes Home

COMIC REVIEW: Mr Higgins Comes Home

16 Oct, 2017

Mike Mignola’s latest horror one-shot is a rather charming affair. Drawn by Warwick Johnson- Cadwell (Lovecraft Anthology 2, Sold State Tank Girl) and written by Mignola, Mr Higgins Comes Home plays with genre conventions in a nod to Hammer Horror from the 1970s.

GAME REVIEW: Necrosphere (PC)

GAME REVIEW: Necrosphere (PC)

12 Oct, 2017

Some gamers are just sadists. Maybe those folk would enjoy Necrosphere, a very challenging side-scrolling platformer. There is a “story” to Necrosphere: You are- or were- a cop who has died. You are now trying to find your way out of the afterlife, out of the Necrosphere and into a portal, back to the Normalsphere. The big twist of Necrosphere is that you only use two buttons: left and right. There is no jump button. This is where the challenge of Necrosphere comes in. Without the ability to jump, easily advancing is more difficult. To “jump” there are bubbles found around the area, and the only control you have is the timing of your bounce and fall. If my brain had a mouth, I think it would’ve vomited a dozen times from the nerves Necrosphere has caused. As you can see in the trailer, the way home is filled with fire and spikes. There is no health. If you die, you are taken back to the latest checkpoint. Luckily, the cats at Cat Nigiri are very generous with checkpoints, so you don’t have to travel 2 minutes to your furthest point, only to die again. Necrosphere is still too mean, even though they give you checkpoints so close to each other, and even though you can save at any point in the game. In the game, they say that this is not Hell, but Necrosphere feels that way sometimes. The world is mapped out into a crafty, interconnected maze, so you will often backtrack after you’ve unlocked areas, and you will find yourself being led back to certain points. This is the Metroidvania system of level design, which is popular with a lot of PC game developers. Why do we continue to get so many of these games with interconnected levels? Probably because it works in those games, and people cannot get enough. Using Metroidvania design works here was well. As much as I have been frustrated, the puzzle solver in me wants to know how I unlock parts of the world. This slideshow requires JavaScript.   I have played the game for only two hours, so I don’t know when I will get...