BOOK REVIEW: Spare and Found Parts

BOOK REVIEW: Spare and Found Parts

13 Feb, 2018

Frankenstein (1818). Pinocchio (1883). Super-Toys Last All Summer Long (1969). Spare and Found Parts (2018). It seems fitting that Sarah Maria Griffin should be adding to the collection of created life stories in this year above all others. Questions of what does life mean, what is it like to the outsider, and what is a monster are all present and correct in Griffin’s literary debut.

BOOK REVIEW: The Belles

BOOK REVIEW: The Belles

12 Feb, 2018

Beauty. It is what this book is about and what this book is. The Belles has perfect, clever writing, with so much meaning behind it.

COMIC REVIEW: Vinegar Teeth

COMIC REVIEW: Vinegar Teeth

10 Feb, 2018

How to best describe what Vinegar Teeth is? Imagine Lovecraft teeming up with Cthulhu to fight crime in depression era New York. I know!

BOOK REVIEW: Elysium Fire by Alastair Reynolds

BOOK REVIEW: Elysium Fire by Alastair Reynolds

9 Feb, 2018

Featuring Inspector Dreyfus- one of Alastair Reynolds most popular characters- this is fast paced SF crime story, combining a futuristic setting with a gripping tale of technology, revolution and revenge.

FILM REVIEW:Black Panther (Non Spolier)

FILM REVIEW:Black Panther (Non Spolier)

9 Feb, 2018

We finally take the trip to Wakanda to meet and greet the Black Panther as he lands on the big screen.

TV REVIEW: The Flash S4E13, ‘True Colors’ (Contains Spoilers)

TV REVIEW: The Flash S4E13, ‘True Colors’ (Contains Spoilers)

8 Feb, 2018

The Flash pushes forward into the next phase of Devoe’s plan with ‘True Colors,’ but too much time is spent retelling Ralph’s story.

REVIEW: The Flash S4E12, ‘Honey, I Shrunk Team Flash’

REVIEW: The Flash S4E12, ‘Honey, I Shrunk Team Flash’

1 Feb, 2018

The Flash stalls the season’s main storyline with a fun diversion that includes Atom’s nemesis and Barry metaphorically working on the Innocence Project in ‘Honey, I Shrunk Team Flash.’

TV REVIEW: The Flash S4E10, ‘The Trial of the Flash’ (Contains Spoilers)

TV REVIEW: The Flash S4E10, ‘The Trial of the Flash’ (Contains Spoilers)

17 Jan, 2018

‘The Trial of the Flash’ contains several standout moments for Barry, Iris, Joe and Ralph but ultimately falls short when it comes to logistics and pacing.

COMIC REVIEW: Hellboy : Krampusnacht

COMIC REVIEW: Hellboy : Krampusnacht

28 Dec, 2017

Hellboy vs Krampus. The ultimate Christmas smackdown!

BOOK REVIEW: Whispers of Flame

BOOK REVIEW: Whispers of Flame

22 Dec, 2017

We enter a new fantasy world in the young adult novel Whispers of Flame.