GRAPHIC NOVEL REVIEW: Monsters! & Other Stories

Official Blurb: “Newcomer Gustavo Duarte spins wordless tales brimming with humor, charm, and delightfully twisted horror! In Monsters!, oversized beasts wreak havoc on cities in the tradition of Godzilla and King Kong. In Có!, an alien abduction disarms a gentle farmer, and in Birds, two business partners run from fate only to find themselves hopelessly unable to change the future.

MonstersCover

Growing up reading Mad Magazine, one of my favourite artists was Sergio Aragones, the Spanish/Mexican cartoonist and writer best known for Spy vs Spy (and also the creator of Conan parody, Groo the Wanderer). His style of comic story telling without any words whatsoever made him a truly international success akin to Mr Bean.

Dark Horse has now expanded its Originals line to introduce Gustavo Duarte’s wordless tales brimming with humor, charm, and delightfully twisted horror in his first American graphic novel Monsters! & Other Stories. The book features three distinct stories: in “Monsters!,” by far my personal favourite, said creatures wreak havoc on civilians and cities in the tradition of Godzilla and King Kong, only to find the unlikeliest of nemesis.

In “Có!,” an alien abduction has a profound effect upon a gentle backwater pig farmer (the weakest of the stories, and the first, so persevere to the rest of the book), and in “Birds,” two feathered business partners run from an appointment with Death, only to find themselves hopelessly unable to change the future – I did find this a little harder to follow, and had to go back and read it again – then you get the kick!

Whilst there are comparisons in the storytelling, Duarte’s art style is very different to Aragones’ – I found it strangely more like Albert Uderzo (Asterix), but it’s incredibly enjoyable and appealing to an adult readership nevertheless. “It is a joy and an honor to have my first book published in the USA by Dark Horse,” said Gustavo Duarte. “It’s really cool to have Monsters! published by the company that has produced the work of so many guys I admire, like Mike Mignola and Eric Powell, among others. I hope this is the first of many.”

So do we, Gustavo!

duartemaos

 

Rating: 4 /5
Reviewer: SilverFox

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

%d bloggers like this: