2010 Eisner Award Results

Last night at Comic Con the 2010 Eisner award winners were announced! here are the results

Best Short Story

  • “Urgent Request,” by Gene Luen Yang and Derek Kirk Kim, in The Eternal Smile(First Second)

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot)

  • Captain America #601: “Red, White, and Blue-Blood,” by Ed Brubaker and Gene Colan (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series

  • The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charles Adlard (Image)

Best Limited Series or Story Arc

  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young (Marvel)

Best New Series

  • Chew, by John Layman and Rob Guillory (Image)

Best Publication for Kids

  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz hc, by L. Frank Baum, Eric Shanower, and Skottie Young (Marvel)

Best Publication for Teens

  • Beasts of Burden, by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)

Best Humor Publication

  • Scott Pilgrim vol. 5: Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe, by Bryan Lee O’Malley (Oni)

Best Anthology

  • Popgun vol. 3, edited by Mark Andrew Smith, D. J. Kirkbride, and Joe Keatinge (Image)

Best Digital Comic

Best Reality-Based Work

  • A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Adaptation from Another Work

  • Richard Stark’s Parker: The Hunter, adapted by Darwyn Cooke (IDW)

Best Graphic Album—New

  • Asterios Polyp, by David Mazzuccheilli (Pantheon)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint

  • Absolute Justice, by Alex Ross, Jim Krueger, and Doug Braithewaite (DC)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips

  • Bloom County: The Complete Library, vol. 1, by Berkeley Breathed, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books

  • The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures deluxe edition, by Dave Stevens, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material

  • The Photographer, by Emmanuel Guibert, Didier Lefèvre, and Frédéric Lemerier (First Second)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia

  • A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Writer

  • Ed Brubaker, Captain America, Daredevil, Marvels Project (Marvel) Criminal, Incognito (Marvel Icon)

Best Writer/Artist

  • David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon)

Best Writer/Artist–Nonfiction

  • Joe Sacco, Footnotes in Gaza (Metropolitan/Holt)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team

  • J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)

  • Jill Thompson, Beasts of Burden (Dark Horse); Magic Trixie and the Dragon(HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Best Cover Artist

  • J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC)

Best Coloring

  • Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, Umbrella Academy, Zero Killer (Dark Horse); Detective Comics (DC); Luna Park (Vertigo)

Best Lettering

  • David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism

Best Comics-Related Book

  • The Art of Harvey Kurtzman: The Mad Genius of Comics, by Denis Kitchen and Paul Buhle (Abrams ComicArts)

Best Publication Design

  • Absolute Justice, designed by Curtis King and Josh Beatman (DC)

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award

  • Vault of Midnight, Ann Arbor, Michigan


  • Burne Hogarth
  • Bob Montana
  • Steve Gerber
  • Dick Giordano
  • Michael Kaluta
  • Mort Weisinger

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award:

  • Jeannie Schulz

Bill Finger Award for Achievement in Comic Book Writing:

  • Otto Binder, Gary Friedrich

Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award:

  • Marian Churchland (Beast)

Source: Comic-Con.org

GS Reporter: Matt

More from the world of Geek Syndicate

No comments


  1. Science Fiction Awards Watch » Blog Archive » Eisner Award Winners - [...] This year’s Eisner Award winners were announced at the San Diego ComicCon over the weekend. Geek Syndicate has the…
%d bloggers like this: